GENERAL AGREEMENT ON TARIFFS AND TRADE

RESTRICTED

SR.38/3

20 December 1982

Limited Distribution

CONTRACTING PARTIES Thirty-Eighth Session Ministerial Meeting (24-29 November 1982)

SUMMARY RECORD OF THE THIRD MEETING

Held in the Geneva International Conference Centre, on Wednesday, 24 November 1982, at 9 a.m.

Chairman: Mr. ALLAN J. MacEACHEN (Canada)

Subject discussed: Ministerial Part of the Session

The CHAIRMAN, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, Canada, made a statement which is reproduced in Spec(82)76.

His Excellency Mr. Fritz HONEGGER, President of the Swiss Confederation, Head of the Delegation of Switzerland, made a statement which is reproduced in Spec(82)80.

Mr. Arthur DUNKEL, Director-General to the CONTRACTING PARTIES to GATT, made a statement which is reproduced in Spec(82)77.

The following statements were made:

European Communities

H.E. Minister Roberto V. Ongpin, Leader of the Delegation of the Philippines	Spec(82)85
H.E. Yoshio Sakurauchi, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan	Spec(82)84
H.E. Mr. William E. Brock, Trade Representative, Executive Office of the President of the United States	Spec(82)105
H.E. Mr. Uffe Ellemann-Jensen, President of the Council of the European Communities	Spec(82)81
Mr. Wilhelm Haferkamp, Vice-President of the Commission of the	Spec(82)95

H.E. Ambassador Ramiro S. Guerreiro, Minister of External Relations of Brazil	Spec(82)86
The Rt. Hon. J.D. Anthony, C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Trade and Resources of Australia	Spec(82)88
H.E. Mr. Shivraj Patil, Commerce Minister of India	Spec(82)87
H.E. Mrs. Anneliese Albrecht, Minister of State of Austria	Spec(82)90
Mr. Rolf Lüders, Minister for Finance and Economic Affairs of Chile	Spec(32)79
H.E. Dr. Otto Graf Lambsdorff, Federal Minister of Economics of the Federal Republic of Germany	Spec(82)100
The Hon. Warren E. Cooper, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Overseas Trade of New Zealand	Spec(82)91
Mr. Lennart Bodström, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden	Spec(82)89
H.E. Mr. Agustín Hidalgo Quintana, Secretary of State for Trade of Spain	Spec(82)119
The Hon. Lalith Athulathmudali, M.P., Minister of Trade and Shipping of Sri Lanka	Spec(82)92
The Hon. J.H. Okwanyo, E.G.H., M.P., Minister for Commerce, Republic of Kenya	Spec(82)78
Mr. J. de Larosière, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund	Spec(82)82
Mr. A.W. Clausen, President, The World Bank and International Finance Corporation	Spec(82)75
Mr. Gamani Corea, Secretary-General of UNCTAD	Spec(82)94

The meeting adjourned at 1.30 p.m.