## RESTRICTED

# GENERAL AGREEMENT ON TARIFFS AND TRADE

L/2247 16 July 1964

Limited Distribution

#### STATUS OF DECLARATIONS ON PROVISIONAL ACCESSION

The status of the six Declarations on provisional accession as of 15 July 1964 is as follows:

## 1. Provisional Accession of Argentina

The Declaration of 18 November 1960 was extended by the Proces-Verbal of 7 November 1962. This Proces-Verbal provides for the extension of the validity of the Declaration until 31 December 1964.

The Declaration is in force between Argentina and the following governments which have accepted both the Declaration and the Procès-Verbal:

Austria Ghana Norway Australia India Pakistan Belgium Israel Peru Brazil Italy Senegal Canada Japan South Africa Chad -Kenya Southern Rhodesia Chile Sweden Kuwait Cyprus Luxemburg Tanganyika Czechoslovakia Trinidad and Tobago Madagascar Dahomey Netherlands, Turkey Denmark Kingdom of the United Kingdom Finland New Zealand United States France Niger

The following governments, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Proces-Verbal:

Ceylon Mauritania
Germany, Federal Republic of Uganda
Indonesia Uruguay
Jamaica Yugoslavia

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>The Federal Republic of Germany and Yugoslavia have signed the Procès-Verbal subject to ratification.

# 2. Provisional Accession of Iceland

The Declaration of 5 March 1964 is valid up to 31 December 1965.

The Declaration is in force between Iceland and the following governments  $^{\mathbf{I}}$ :

Brazil

Denmark

Finland

France

Japan

New Zealand

Norway

Southern Rhodesia

Sweden

Austria has signed the Declaration subject to ratification.

## 3. Provisional Accession of Switzerland

The Declaration of 22 November 1958 was extended by the Procès-Verbal of 8 December 1961. This Procès-Verbal provides for the extension of the validity of the Declaration until 31 December 1964.

The Declaration is in force between Switzerland and the following governments which have accepted both the Declaration and the Proces-Verbal:

Austria Haiti Pakistan Belgium India Peru Brazil Indonesia Senegal Canada South Africa Israel Ceylon Italy Southern Rhodesia Chile Jamaica Spain Chad Japan Sweden Cyprus Kenya Tanganyika Czechoslovakia Kuwait Trinidad and Tobago Luxemburg Dahomev Tunisia Denmark Madagascar Turkey Finland Netherlands, Uganda France Kingdom of the United Arab Republic Germany. Nicaragua United Kingdom Federal Republic of Niger United States Ghana Nigeria Uruguay Greece Norway

The following governments, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Procès-Verbal:

Cameroon Malaysia
Central African Republic Mauritania
Congo (Brazzaville) Sierra Leone
Gabon Togo
Ivory Coast Upper Volta

Portugal has signed both the Declaration and the Proces-Verbal subject to ratification.

#### 4. Provisional Accession of Tunisia

The Declaration of 12 November 1959 was extended by the Procès-Verbal of 9 December 1961. The Second Procès-Verbal, opened for acceptance on 12 December 1965, provides for the further extension of the validity of the Declaration until 31 December 1965, but it is not yet in force. It has been accepted by:

Australia Chad India Japan Kenya Madagascar New Zealand Nîger Norway Pakistan Senegal

United Kingdom United States

The following governments, as well as Tunisia, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Second Proces-Verbal:

Austria Belgium Brazil France Gabon Germany, Nigeria Peru Sierra Le

Canada Central African Federal Republic of

Sierra Leone Southern Rhodesia

Republic Ceylon Chile Ghana Indonesia Israel Ivory Coast Sweden Switzerland Tanganyika

Congo (Brazzaville) Cuba Jamaica Kuwait Luxemburg Malaysia Mauritania Netherlands, Togo Trinidad and Tobago

Czechoslovakia Dahomey Denmark Finland

Cyprus

Mauritania Netherlands, Kingdom of the Turkey Uganda Upper Volta Yugoslavia

## 5. Provisional Accession of the United Arab Republic

Ghana

The Declaration of 13 November 1962 is valid up to 31 December 1964.

The Declaration is in force between the United Arab Republic and the following governments:

Argentina Greece Norway Belgium Haiti Pakistan Brazil India Peru Canada Indonesia Senegal Southern Rhodesia Ceylon Japan Chad Kenya Sweden Chile Kuwait Switzerland Cuba Luxemburg Tanganyika Cyprus Madagascar Trinidad and Tobago Czechoslovakia Malaysia Tunisia Dahomey Netherlands, Turkey Denmark Kingdom of the United Kingdom Dominican Republic New Zealand United States France Nicaragua Yugoslavia

Niger

lately and the Federal Republic of Germany have signed the Declaration subject to ratification.

## 6. Provisional Accession of Yugoslavia

The Declaration of 13 November 1962 is valid up to 31 December 1965.

The Declaration is in force between Yugoslavia and the following governments:

Argentina France New Zealand Belgium Ghana Niger Brazil Greece Norway Canada India Pakistan Ceylon Indonesia Senegal Southern Rhodesia Chile Israel Chad . Japan Sweden Cuba Kenya Tanganyika Cyprus Kuwait Tunisia Czechoslovakia Luxemburg Turkey Dahomey United Arab Republic Madagascar Denmark Netherlands, United Kingdom Finland Kingdom of the Uruguay

Austria and Italy have signed the Declaration subject to ratification.