#### RESTRICTED

L/2368 13 March 1965

Limited Distribution

# GENERAL AGREEMENT ON TARIFFS AND TRADE

## STATUS OF DECLARATIONS ON PROVISIONAL ACCESSION

#### Note by the Executive Secretary

The status of the six Declarations on provisional accession as of 9 March 1965 is as follows:

## 1. Provisional Accession of Argentina

The validity of the Declaration of 18 November 1960 was extended by the Second Procès-Verbal of 30 October 1964 until 31 December 1966.

The Declaration is in force between Argentina and the following Governments which have accepted both the Declaration and the Second Procès-Verbal<sup>1</sup>:

Australia	France
Belgium	Cambia
Brazil	Israel
Canada	Italy
Chilo	Japan
Czechoslovakia	Luxomburg
Denmark	Malta
Finland	Netherlands
	Norway

Pakiston Rhodesia South Africa Spain Sweden Trinidad and Tobag• Turkey United Kingdom United States

The following Governments, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Second Procès-Verbal:

Austria<sup>2</sup> Ceylon Chad Cyprus Dahomey 2 Germany, Fed. Rop.<sup>2</sup> Ghana India Indonesia Jamaica Kenya Kuweit

Madagascar Malawi Mauritania Now Zealand Niger Nigeria Peru Sonegal Tanzenia Uganda Uruguay Yugoslavia

<sup>2</sup>Have signed the Second Procès-Verbal subject to ratification.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Malaysia signed the Declaration and the Second Proces-Verbal on 10 Merch 1965. The Declaration will therefore enter into force between Malaysia and Argentina on 9 April 1965.

# 2. Provisional Accession of Iceland

The Declaration of 5 March 1964 is valid until 31 December 1965.

The Declaration is in force between Iceland and the following Governments<sup>1</sup>:

Austria	Luxemburg
Brazil	Melta
Cuba	Netherlands
Czechoslovakia	New Zealand
Donmark	Norway
Finland	Peru
France	Rhodesia
Gambia	South Africa
Greece	Spain
India	Sweden
Israel	Turkey
Italy	United Kingdom
Japan	United States
	Yugoslavia

N.B. The Declaration will become effective between Iceland and the following Governments on the dates indicated:

Central African Republic	24 March 1965
Nicaragua	24 March 1965
Trinidad and Tobago	1 April 1965
Cyprus	2 April 1965
United Arab Republic	2 April 1965
Niger	8 April 1965

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>The Federal Republic of Germany and Chile have signed the Declaration subject to ratification.

## 3. Provisional Accession of Switzerland

The validity of the Declaration of 22 November 1958 was extended by the Second Procès-Verbal of 30 October 1964 until 31 December 1967.

The Declaration is in force between Switzerland and the following Governments which have accepted both the Declaration and the Second Procès-Verbal:

Belgium	Luxemburg
Brazil	Malta
Canada	Notherlands
Chile	Norway
Cuba	Pakistan
Czechoslovakia	Peru
Denmark	Rhodesia
Finland	South Africa
France	Spain
Gambia	Sweden
Greece	Trinidad and Tobago
Israel	Tunisia
Italy	Turkey
Japan	United Kingdom
	United States

The following Governments, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Second Procès-Verbal:

Austria
Cameroon
Central African
Republic
Ceylon
Chad
Congo (Brazzaville)
Cyprus
Dahomey
Gabon 2
Germany, Fed. Rep.~

2

Haiti India Indonesia Ivory Coast Jamaica Kenya Kuwait Madagascar Malaysia Malawi

Ghana

Mauritania Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Senegal Sierra Leone Tanzania Togo Uganda United Arab Republic Upper Volta Uruguay

<sup>1</sup>Portugal has signed the Declaration subject to ratification; Iceland signed the Declaration and the Second Procès-Verbal on 8 March 1965. The Declaration will therefore enter into force between Iceland and Switzerland on 7 April 1965.

<sup>2</sup>Have signed the Second Procès-Verbal subject to ratification.

## 4. Provisional Accession of Tunisia

The validity of the Declaration of 12 November 1959 was extended by the Second Procès-Verbal of 12 December 1963 until 31 December 1965.

The Declaration is in force between Tunisia and the following Governments, which have accepted both the Declaration and the Second Procès-Verbal:

Austria	Malta .
Australia	Netherlands
Chad	New Zealand
Chile	Niger
Cuba	Nigeria
Czechoslovakia	Norway
Finland	Pakistan
Gambia	Rhodesia
India	Senegal
Japan	Sweden
Kenya	United Arab Republic
Luxemburg	United Kingdom
Madagascar	United States
Malawi	

The following Governments, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Second Procès-Verbal:

Belgium	Gabon	Peru
Brazil	Germany, Fed. Rep.	Sierra Leone
Canada	Ghana	Switzerland
Central African	Indonesia	Tanzania
Republic	Israel	Togo
Ceylon	Ivory Coast	Trinidad and Tobago
Congo (Brazzaville)	Jamaica	Turkey
Cyprus	Kuwait	Uganda
Dahomey	Malaysia	Upper Volta
Denmark	Mauritania	Yugoslavia
France		

## 5. Provisional Accession of the United Arab Republic

The validity of the Declaration of 13 November 1962 was extended by the Procès-Verbal of 30 October 1964 until 31 December 1966.

The Declaration is in force between the United Arab Republic and the following Covernments which have accepted both the Declaration and the Proces-Verbal.

Australia	Luxemburg	
Belgium	Malta	
Brazil	Mauritania	
Canada	Netherlands	
Chile	Norway	
Czechoslovakia	Pakistan	
Denmark	Rhodesia	
Finlend	Spain	
France	Sweden	
Gambia	Trinidad and Tobago	
Iceland	Turkey	
Italy	United Kingdom	
Japan	United States	

Ine following Governments, having accepted the Declaration, have not yet accepted the Second Procès-Verbal:

Argentina	Kuwait
Central African Republic	Madagascar
Ceylon	Malawi
Chad	Malaysia
Cuba	New Zealand
Cyprus	Nicaragua
Dahomey	Niger
Dominican Republic	Peru
Germany, Fed. Rep.	Senegal
Ghana	Switzerland
Greece	Tanzania
Haiti	Tunisia
India	Uganda
Indonesia	Yugoslavia
Kenya	

# 6. Provisional Accession of Yugoslavia

The Declaration of 13 November 1962 is valid until 31 December 1965.

The Declaration is in force between Yugoslavia and the following Governments:

Argentina	Kenya
Austria	Kuwait
Belgium	• Luxemburg
Brazil	Madagascar
Canada	Malawi
Ceylon	Malta
Chad	Netherlands
Chile	New Zealand
Cuba	Niger
Cyprus	Nigeria
Czechoslovakia	Norway
Dahomey	Pakistan
Denmark	Rhodesia
Finland	Senegal
France	Sweden
Gambia	Tanzania
Ghana	Tunisia
Greece	Turkey
India	United Arab Republic
Indonesia	United Kingdom
Israel	United States
Italy	Uruguay
Japan	

<sup>1</sup>The Federal Republic of Germany has signed the Declaration subject to ratification.